Baby Driver

Baby Driver is a crime comedy movie starring Jamie Foxx, Kevin Spacey, Jon Hamm and Ansel Elgort. The film follows Baby (Elgort) a getaway driver for Doc (Spacey) to pay of his debts to Doc and after thinking he’s left the world behind he is thrown back in. The movie is full of music as Baby suffers from Tinnitus so to drown it out he listens to music and this is used very clever as in some scenes a drum beat for example is in-time with the gun shots, I really liked this technique and it didn’t feel like the music was there so they could sell an official soundtrack. I thought Bat (Foxx) was played very well as the psycho of the lot. I loved that the film started with a heist and set the tone for the rest of the film which some films only give you a glimpse and I was hooked from the start. The film romance didnt feel cheesy and you did want Baby to leave the crime world behind and live a happy life with Deborah. I was constantly on the edge of my seat and rooting for baby. Overall the soundtrack on its own was amazing and it was weaved in with precision, the action was amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed the film its a shame that tonight was the last showing of it at my local cinema otherwise I would happily go watch it again.

Rating 9

Leave a comment