Contagion Review

Contagion is a 2012 thriller starring Matt Damon, Laurence Fishburne and Jude Law about the outbreak of a deadly airborne virus and follows how the media have an influence on how people react, how the World Health Organisation investigate the origin of the virus and how to create a vaccine and how the people effected react and cope with day-to-day life. First off when the film first came out I was only young and I saw the trailer and thought this looks amazing an it’s gonna be a bit like 28 Days Later or I Am Legend and I hate when the trailer changes the whole look and feel of a film and makes it something it’s not and then viewers feel conned out of their money for a film that was nothing like it was shown in the trailer. Putting this aside the film feels unique and different to what I have seen before and I like the realism to it as the infected are not rampaging monsters they are ill and this makes the film feel a bit more like a documentary. I also love Jude Law’s character he plays a blogger who is a bit like the anonymous and writes about the ‘truth’ and how he as part of the media can influence the public for example if he says there is a cure and it’s for example paracetamol it will cause a surge in sales of paracetamol. I also love how it shows how the public go into panic and start robbing food for stores and rob people to survive as this is how humans would react in this situation in my opinion fight or flight. The thing I hated the most was the ending as it didn’t really resolve what happens after or anything like that. Overall I enjoyed the film and for 50p down the second-hand store it was money well spent I didn’t feel I had been robbed 102 ministers of my life watching Contagion. That’s all I can really say without giving too much away this is really as much as I can say.

Rating 6

Leave a Reply

